A snob?

So eventually, after breaking up with Aries Chef, I was ready to start dating again. I hadn’t been single since I was 20. I am now 30, and fairly sure I’m going to do single so much better this time. No scary internet stuff for me, I begged friends and colleagues to set me up with guys. Which is even more scary sometimes…I wanted to say “really? Is that how you see me….with that guy?!” But no matter. Lots of frogs before you find a prince, right?

It’s about this time that I discovered I had become a massive snob.

Well maybe not massive. I am prone to exaggeration.

But definitely snobbish. And likely to judge you fairly quickly, and fatally.

The first proper date I went on started off amazing for me. He picked me up in his car. It was the first time I had ever been picked up in a car for a date. It was the first time I’d been out with a guy that owned a car. (Yes, I have low standards.) He was insanely nervous. That put me off. A little nervous is sweet. A lot nervous makes me wonder if a) he’s ever done this before or b) he’s going to chop me up in little pieces at the end of the night, and add me to the collection under his house.

He took me to a pub.

I hope I was polite about it. But seriously? A pub? Don’t get me wrong, I like a steak as much as the next carnivore, but to me, a pub is not first date first impression stuff. If you consider a top night out to impress someone the pub, we are not going to get along.

And we didn’t.  Well, I didn’t. Next.

The second date was a group setting. A workmate, his wife, their friend. Lovely guy. Getting on really well, funny, a couple of things in common, enough different interests to keep conversation flowing. Then they suggested he pick the wine. He chose a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.

I don’t want to offend anyone here. I love wine. It is my favourite hobby of all time. The only magazine I buy is the Wine Companion. There is only one type of wine that I do not drink. And here it is. I had been assured by workmate that this guy knew his wine. And no, he didn’t.

Before you start defending him about the obviously limited choices that are usually on an Indian restaurants wine list, can I point out that there was a Vasse Felix Chardonnay for the same price.

Sigh. Next.

Too picky?

Leave a Reply

